top of page

Danielle Dax / Dark Adapted Eye

­CD available 2/22/19

Mixing a Gothic vibe with experimental sounds and a remarkably versatile voice, Danielle Dax left a lasting mark on Classic Alternative music. Her expression was highly visual as well, as depicted on her record sleeves, music videos and in photographs. Musically, there were no boundaries. Her voice could waver up to beautiful highs or down to menacing lows as she strummed a guitar over a dark dance tune or plucked a banjo over a quirky country-tinged number. Her lyrics could tackle the hypocrisy of religion with the catchy dance beat of Big Hollow Man or address a cheating partner with the bouncy toe-tapper Touch Piggy’s Eyes. She could conjure a Glam rocker on the single Cat-House or show an Eastern influence on the experimental Sleep Has No Property. Originally released in 1988, this 30th anniversary edition of the compilation Dark Adapted Eye represents the always captivating Danielle Dax from 1985-1988. In addition to the original 12 album tracks, this newly remastered edition includes additional B sides and remixes, some making their debut CD appearance.

1. Cat-House

2. Big Hollow Man

3. White Knuckle Ride

4. When I Was Young

5. Yummer Yummer Man

6. Fizzing Human Bomb

7. Whistling For His Love

8. Flashback

9. Inky Bloaters

10. Brimstone In A Barren Land

11. Bad Miss 'M'

12. Touch Piggy's Eyes

Bonus Tracks:

13. Sleep Has No Property

14. Where The Flies Are

15. Funtime

16. Cold Sweat

17. Cat-House (Overnight Mix)

18. White Knuckle Ride (Remix)

19. Whistling For His Love (12" Remix)

Danielle Dax - Cover.jpg
bottom of page